Decisions. Decisions…Breaking the Loop of Indecision

pexels-photo-66440.jpeg

I’m not gonna sugarcoat this, Millennials.

There are a lot of times where I’ve asked God to just hurry up and show me the way already. I just want to be at the “American Dream” I’ve cultivated in my mind so intricately. My glittery eyes gaze over my beef cake husband as he fans my flames and offers me a drink. Our cute little rosebuds for kids scamper across our manicured lawn that’s so green it makes the trees jelly.

We have a garden in the back, a swing in the midst of the flowers, a house that can hold so much of my family and loved ones that we should have our own zip code. We live right up the street from some artsy fartsy neighborhood that offers something different to eat and try every other week.

But that’s not how it works…not always. Sheesh…for me…it doesn’t work like that at all.

Lately, after so much prayer and dissecting my dreams and drawing parallels with my waking life, I’ve given up.

“OH NOOOO! Don’t give up!” 

AHHHH!! Shaddddupppppp!

Giving up on some things ain’t a bad thing all the time. Why? Because:

  1. I’ve given up trying to make something bloom out of thin air when it’s not ready to be birthed yet.
  2. Giving up on trying so hard and just letting life flow, doing things that make me happy (not anything illegal, or morally mind blowing) has given me more solace and direction.

road-sun-rays-path

And that second point is where God wants me to be.

“Well, how do you know?”

I don’t. Not officially, I suppose, with a manual and step by step guide of things to do to get me to the next level. I know that sounds so counterintuitive, but this is one of those faith things, like knowing God exists, or knowing that the girl or boy you’ve been running after is “The One”.

Think of it this way…I don’t have an official God document in the mail that told me that the path I’m going on is right, but this is why I’m on the right path.

  1. The Word (The Bible, the basic instructions before leaving earth manual pack) backs up my decision.
    1. “O Lord, I know the way of a man is not himself; it is not in man who walks to direct his own steps.” (Jeremiah 10:23)
    2. “The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord…” (Psalm 37:23)
    3. “A man’s steps are of the Lord’s. How then can a man understand his own way?” (Proverbs 20:24)

And there’s more where that comes from.

The one I want you to draw your attention to is this one:

“A man’s steps are of the Lord’s. How then can a man understand his own way?” (Proverbs 20:24) 

If God is running this…giving me the ideas…how will I understand how I’ll get there, or when, or where it’ll happen? I won’t. So, asking a jillion questions is counterintuitive. I want to understand, but it’s okay that I don’t. Why? Because my steps are already ordered by God when I walk in His ways and His truth. When I stay in His light, and His will (which is his Word – that Bible thing I sometimes struggle to read)

…I think about how my husband says…people aren’t smart enough to come up with ideas and concepts on their own. Something has to happen for them to be like…WHOAAA…maybe that would make a great movie, musical idea, toy, etc.

We all have different things we’re compelled to do, that we run towards…so I’m running after those things that I desire with the faith that God is going to give me the desires that match His heart and where He wants me to go.

Sitting here waiting for the next step, isn’t going to get me there. Making a decision and going with it is where I’ll find the direction. I’m not scared of making the wrong decision as much because God says “Be of good courage…” Courage is working and stepping out on faith even in the midst of fear. So, I’m gonna make the decision whether its wrong or right and I don’t see it until later. Again you ask, “Why? How do you know?”

You’re not always going to know, but you have to believe that if it’s RIGHT – then be happy stupid because you’re enjoying the fruit of being obedient and stepping out on faith. If the decision you made was WRONG – be happy stupid because even if it’s not where I need to be…God’ll turn me around or use that direction I just made to teach me a lesson through some adversity. So, either way you win.

Yeah, you may feel like you’re losing time…but you serve the author of time. And yeah, that sounds cute, but there’s so much life to live. You tell me….making a decision and knowing more about yourself over the course of 10 years…is that more a waste of time than sitting there for the same 10 years not having chosen anything because you didn’t want to make the mistake?

yoda-1091030_1280

As my Mom says…“Every moment is a teaching moment. And what if you make the decision and it’s the right decision? Don’t wait turning the wheels, hoping for a change. Do something!” (She was Yoda in another life, ya’ll.)

Note: Now if you’re running towards drugs and addictions…don’t blame God for that. He always wants to best for you (despite the obstacles to get there) and if you’re hurting yourself or others…why would a living God that only wants your success put hurt/death/despair on you? #JustSaying

So…just go for it Millennial. So what if you fail? Then, you know what you need to do next time to make it better or make you better? You’re a frickin’ Millennial…you’re bound to make a mistake somewhere. Suck it up!

pexels-photo-27843

And if you don’t fail…Then, hot damn! Celebrate and give Glory to God for being such a bomb diggity guide and counselor.

Let us know how it flows, Millennial. Try doing what you want to do instead of twiddling your thumbs trying to think of what to do next. Then, let us know the deets below in the comments or on our Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

